This site requires JavaScript to be enabled

35 views

3.0 - Updated on 2021-02-25 by Farha Bhimji

2.0 - Updated on 2021-02-17 by Carlos Salazar

1.0 - Authored on 2017-08-02 by Marcia Teckenbrock

Zoom meeting security - how to disable "Allow participants to join anytime" formally known as "Join Before Host"

 

Intended for:

Individuals who host or organize Zoom meetings.

 


Scenario/Use case:

Secure the meeting by disabling "Allow participants to join anytime" option.

 


Important security notes for meeting hosts and organizers:

• Meeting hosts SHOULD NOT publicly post a Zoom meeting ID if the “Allow participants to join anytime” option is enabled (including on publicly available Indico sites.) Doing so allows anybody to join anonymously.

• Do not publicly post the passcodes or embedded passcodes within invitation links; including it in a Fermilab email message is okay. For instructions, watch this video from Zoom.

• To disable the “Allow participants to join anytime ” option, see the instructions below.

 

Failure to honor this policy may result in the loss of your Zoom account and a meeting with the laboratory’s chief information security officer.

 


Instructions:

In the Zoom application:

Log in to the application.
2. Click Schedule.


3. Under Meeting Options, click Advanced Options.


4. Uncheck the box next to "Allow participants to join anytime".

(If you wish to change the Meeting Options in an existing meeting:

  1. Once logged in, click Meetings.
  2. Hover over the name of the meeting you want to change, and click Edit.
  3. Follow the instructions above.

 

Note: If you wish to disable the "Allow participants to join anytime" option for your Personal Meeting ID (also known as Personal Meeting Room), do the following:

        1. Log in to the application.

        2. Click on Meetings.        

        3. Under "Personal Meeting ID", click Edit.

        

        4. Make sure that you uncheck the "Allow participants to join anytime" box and then click Save.



        

In your web browser:

  1. Log in at https://fnal.zoom.us/.

    2. Click Schedule a meeting


    3. Uncheck the box next to "Allow participants to join anytime".




(If you wish to change the Meeting Options in an existing meeting:

  1. Once logged in, in the Upcoming Meetings tab, click the name of the meeting you wish to edit.

    2. Click Edit this Meeting.



    3. Follow the instructions above.

 

Note: If you wish to disable the "Allow participants to join anytime" option for your Personal Meeting ID (also known as Personal Room), do the following:

        1. Log in at https://fnal.zoom.us/.

        2. Click Meetings in the left navigation menu.

        3. Select the "Personal Room" tab and then click Edit at the bottom of the screen.

        4. Make sure you uncheck the "Allow participants to join anytime" box and then click Save.